in , , ,

WCQ: Ronaldo extends record in Portugal as he scored against Qatar

Spread the love
Cristiano Ronaldo scored a goal to reach his 112th Portugal goal as they beat Qatar 3-0, increasing his record as the top-scoring player in men’s international football.
The Manchester United forward scored the opener from close range in the friendly at the Estadio Algarve and was replaced at half-time.
The 36-year-old broke Iran striker Ali Daei’s record of 109 goals last month.
This was Ronaldo’s 181st cap, meaning he has now also overtaken Sergio Ramos as Europe’s most-capped male player.
Malaysian Soh Chin Ann, who retired in 1984, has the world record with 195.
Jose Fonte bundled in Portugal’s second goal early in the second half on Saturday.
International debutant Rafael Leao, who replaced Ronaldo, hit the woodwork twice – and Andre Silva scored their third in the final minute.
Group A only has five teams, and whichever team is not in action plays a friendly against World Cup 2022 hosts Qatar.
Portugal were knocked off top spot in qualifying on Saturday as Serbia beat Luxembourg 1-0, with Dusan Vlahovic scoring the only goal.
Fernando Santos’ side are one point behind the Serbs but have a game in hand.
Portugal squad
Formation 4-3-3
22Meireles Costa 2Dalot6José Fonte 13Danilo 19Tavares Mendes
21Nunes 14William Carvalho 23João Mário
17Gonçalo Guedes 9André Silva 7Cristiano Ronaldo
1Rui Patrício 3Pepe4Rúben Dias 5Nélson Semedo 8João Moutinho 10Bernardo Silva 11Bruno Fernandes 12Lopes15da Conceição Leão 16Alves Palhinha Gonçalves 20Cancelo
Qatar squad
Formation 5-4-1
1Al Sheeb 2Carvalho Deus Correia 5Suleiman Odeh 15Ali Al Rawi 3Hassan Fadlalla 14Ahmed
10Al Haydos 12Boudiaf 6Mohammed 11Afif 19Abdulla
4Jadoua Al Bayati 7Alaaeldin Abdelmotaal 8Thaimn Qambar 9Abdurisag Yusuf 13Djebril 16Mohammed Doozandeh 17Fathy Abdoulla 18Al Brake 20Al Ahrak 21Mohamed Ali 22Aissa Barsham 23AL Haj Madibo

Written by Ishaq Mustafa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ballon d’Or 2021: Who is favourite to win ( SEE ALL NOMINEES)

BREAKING: Tyson Fury defeats Deontay Wilder to retain WBC heavyweight title in Las Vegas (FURY SPEAKS)