in , , , , , ,

Sam Kerr wins FWA women’s footballer of the year award

Spread the love

Chelsea striker Kerr has been rewarded for another superb season after being named FWA Women’s Footballer of the Year for a second consecutive year, with Aston Villa’s Rachel Daly and Chelsea team-mate Lauren James completing the top three.

The Australia international has scored 10 goals in 18 games in the WSL and earlier this month scored her 50th league goal in England. She has scored 26 goals in 34 club appearances this season.

Read Also:

Haaland named FWA men’s footballer of the year

Football: Allardyce, fear of relegation should motivate Leeds

Football: captain Busquets to leave Barcelona after 18 years

Since her arrival at Chelsea during the 2019/20 season, Kerr has helped Emma Hayes’ side secure three league titles, two FA Cups and two League Cups.

She has the chance to add to those honours this season with Chelsea chasing a double. The Blues are currently one point behind WSL leaders Man Utd with a game in hand in what has already been a thrilling title race.

She will also captain Australia this summer as she looks to lead the host nation to victory at the Women’s World Cup on home soil.

Written by Ibrahim Oladamola

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Haaland named FWA men’s footballer of the year

All the top stories and transfer rumours from Friday’s newspapers