in , ,

Asisat Oshoala Wins 6th Africa Women’s Player Of The Year

Spread the love

Super Falcon’s striker, Asisat Oshoala, has been declared the 2023 CAF Women’s Player of the Year.

On Monday, the 29-year-old Barcelona forward was announced the winner at the gala held in Marrakesh, Morocco.

Oshoala, who also plays as a striker for the FC Barcelona women’s team, is winning the continental accolade for the sixth time.

READ ALSO:Victor Osimhen Breaks Record, Crowned CAF Men’s Player Of The Year

She had won the award in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2019 and 2022.

However, She is now the footballer with the most win.

List of former winners: Women’s Player of the Year

2001 Mercy Akide (Nigeria)

2002 Alberta Sackey (Ghana)

2003 Adjoa Bayor (Ghana)

2004 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2005 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2006 Cynthia Uwak (Nigeria)

2007 Cynthia Uwak (Nigeria)

2008 Noko Matlou (South Africa)

2009 Not awarded

2010 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2011 Perpetua Nkwocha (Nigeria)

2012 Genoveva Anonmam (Equatorial Guinea)

2013 Not awarded

2014 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2015 Gaëlle Enganamouit (Cameroon)

2016 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2017 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2018 Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

2019 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

2020 Not awarded due to COVID-19

2021 Not awarded due to COVID-19

2022 Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)


Written by Ruth Semilore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Victor Osimhen Breaks Record, Crowned CAF Men’s Player Of The Year

POPULAR South African Afro-Pop Singer, Zahara Is Dead